Help me go to space!

Click here to send me to space!

I’ve been following the Axe Apollo Space Academy Competition jealously for a few weeks. In my head I was saying, “I want to go to space! I’ve had this dream for a very long time!”

I actually emailed the European Space Agency a few years ago to ask them how I could apply to be an astronaut with them. And before that I asked Egyptian/American scientist Dr Farouk El-Baz if he knew how I might get myself into space. Both were dead ends. But I wasn’t afraid to try. You never know when a door you knock on will actually open for you.

So instead of feeling envious of other people who have applied to join this competition, I decided I would knock on this door as well. Why not? I have a dream. I need to do something about it. If the door opens then I am one of the luckiest people in the world. And if it doesn’t, well then I can’t say I didn’t try.

Why do I want to go into space? I want the chance to look at our world from a different perspective, especially now, especially with everything we are going through in Egypt. We live through very difficult times in my country right now. I’ve chosen to step away, just a little bit, and observe what is happening rather than engage directly in it. I want to get a fresh perspective. I want to quietly decide what my role can or should be. I cannot think of anything that could be more inspiring for me than to look at our Earth, at my country, from outer space.

I also feel like I have something to prove. Just because I’m a woman doesn’t mean I can’t dream of going up into space. Just because I’m a mother of four who is over 40 does not mean I cannot dream of going into outer space. Just because I am an Egyptian, Arab, Muslim does not mean I cannot dream of going into outer space.

We all dream. And some of us achieve our dreams. For me to achieve this one I will need your help. Please go to my profile on the competition website and click on vote. Every single vote counts! Thank you dearly for helping me achieve my dreams.

 

Leave a Reply

